Tags

, , , ,

Well that is very presumptious of me to call myself a genius, but in this case my creativity paid off. My last post was about a new recipe I discovered for wraps. I was very excited for this new recipe as it is nice to have options when trying to come up with things to have for lunch.

As i pondered this recipe i began to think of alternative flavours that i could use for making a variety of wraps. The recipe calls for marinara sauce and my initial idea was to replace the sauce with some chicken stock or water to have a more simply flavoured wrap.

The dough from the wraps is very workable and forgiving and this brought another idea to my mind. The wraps are fried to complete the cooking process. Why not try baking this dough and seeing how it turns out. Last night my daughter was coming home from a weekend away and had a study group to go to shortly after so i thought i should have some dinner ready for her when she arrived. Pizza! Why not try this dough for a pizza shell. I did, I succeeded and she loved it!

I replaced the marinara sauce, in the recipe for 1 cup of water. Instead of dividing the dough, after it had set, i took the entire ball and placed it on a greased peice of parchment paper which was placed on my pizza stone. I covered it with a second peice of greased parchment paper and rolled it out to about 1/4 inch thickness as best I could. I mentioned earlier that this dough is very forgiving and that was really benenficial in the rolling out process. I left the dough on the single piece of parchement but still used the pizza stone. I baked it at 350 for about 20 minutes. The edges were just stating to show some signs of turning brown. I tookit out of the oven and let it cool for a while.

To finish the pizza i slid it off the parchment so it could bake directly on the pizza stone, for the second phase. I used my normal pizza sauce, loaded it up with some great fresh pizza toppings as well as a nice dose of grated mozzarella cheese. The final baking time will depend on how well done you like your crust, or how bubbly or brown you prefer your cheese, but i baked it at 375 for 20-30 minutes. It came out of the oven looking incredibly delicious and we couldn’t wait to try it.

Using my normal pizza cutter I cut it the usual 8 slices and was pleasantly surprised that you could actually hold it in your hand like traditional pizza.  Wow – what a great result…i can once again enjoy a great pizza!

Here is the recipe.

**I have another brilliant modification to this recipe… stay tuned to find out what it is.

